2025 Quiz 6

This week’s quiz is prepared by Greg Bartemes in association with Beau Rugg and Dr. Bruce Maurer. Click here to view a PDF of the quiz along with the answers.

NFHS Rules

  1. A’s QB lines up under center for the first play of the game, the U notices the QB has a mouthpiece wedged in the top bars of their facemask and one strapped to the bottom bar and in his mouth. The U stops play and informs the QB to go to the SL for 1 play and remove the second mouthpiece. The R stepped in and said if the 2 were not both dangling from the bottom of their facemask the one wedged in the top bar is OK.

  2. 4th/12, K81’s punt downfield is muffed by R32 and recovered by K65 resulting in 1st/10 for K. What is the status of the play clock, 25 or 40? What is the status of the game clock, starts on the ready or snap?

  3. K84’s FK goes OOB at R’s 12YL. R’s HC chooses the 35YL to start a new series with placement of the ball in the middle. The U denies the request and spots the ball on the nearest HM to the OOB spot

  4. After a COP punt, A took the field and lined up in formation while B stayed huddled on their SL. The wing informed B’s HC they need to take the field as no TO has been called. The HC ignored the warning and after continued warnings the R blew the RFP whistle. B’s HC immediately called TO and strongly suggested there is a 1 minute intermission after a COP.

  5. 4th/8 at K’s 48YL. The snap goes over the punter K32’s head. K32 scoops up the ball and scrambles around the left end where he/she is tackled by the face mask at K’s 43YL. The Crew administered the foul from the end of the run, 1st/10 at R’s 42YL.

  6. 3rd/8 from A’s 30YL. A23 is running a sweep around the left side where B54 grabs he/she by the facemask and swings A23 around. Two officials throw flags as A23 maintains his/her balance and ran around the right side for a 70 Yd TD run. The R informed A’s HC to keep the points they need to decline the penalty.

  7. A breaks the huddle on a 3rd/15 and lines up with A2 as the snapper and the entire line in two-point stances. QB A12 yells shift, the entire right side shifts to the left of snapper A2. A’s line L to R is as follows; left end A81, A77, A67, A64, A51, A78, A2. A2 was set to snap the ball back to A12 sideways when the B’s HC called TO. A) Was A’s formation legal? B) Was A’s shift legal? C) Can A2 snap the ball sideways and not through their legs? D) Is A2 an eligible receiver?

OHSAA Mechanics

  1. 4th/2, Team A runs the ball up the middle, at the whistle both LJ and HL pinch in mirroring at spot close to a 1st down on a grass field. The LJ informs the R we should measure so the U tosses the ball to LOS official closest to the end of the run to spot the ball at his/her feet for an accurate measurement.

  2. 4th/2, Team A runs the ball up the middle, at the whistle both LJ and HL pinch in mirroring at spot one yard beyond a 1st down. The LJ signals the R 1st down so the R signals 1st down to the PB 2X using signal #8.

OHSAA Regulations

  1. After a Safety in a JV game, which both teams chose not to free kick, K’s HC asked if they can kick this time. The crew informed that once the game started without kicks the game must continue under that format. The crew spotted the ball on K’s/B’s 45 YL which is 25 yds from K’s original FK line, the 20 YL.